I’ve been tagged by fn of The Cottage Smallholder, who writes a lovely blog all about self sufficiency and their lives (and shares some absolutely gorgeous recipes in the process). Its basically a meme – link to the person who tagged you and post the rules on your blog. Share 8 random or wierd things about yourself. Tag 8 people at the end of the post and include links to their blogs. thats it.

Eight random facts about me:

  1. i had Bell’s Palsy about 8 or 9 years ago. Bell’s is a condition where – for unknown reasons – the nerve to one side of the face freezes up, and nothing on one side of the face moves. Although there are some other nasty causes for this symptom, if no causes are found, its generally called Bell’s Palsy, and something like 85% of people go onto recover from it. I was one of the lucky 85%, for the most part, although i still have crocodile tear syndrome. I share the Bell’s Palsy with famous people like George Clooney, Pierce Brosnan, Katie Holmes and Jean Chretien.
  2. I adore music, especially classical music, despite my deafness.
  3. I can’t whistle by blowing out, only by sucking in.
  4. I was born in Birmingham, but have lived in Devon, Hampshire, Berkshire and Manchester too. I don’t have an accent (other than an English accent), not sure why. If i won the lottery and could live anywhere then i’d like to live in the area between Birmingham and Wales, in the countryside, or failing that, either Leicestershire (again in the country) or in the South West (in the countryside).
  5. KG1 bowI was an archer, as a teenager. I was good at it, very good, in fact, told i was potentially good enough to try for the olympics. Unfortunately i developed a problem at around the same time as i was working for some major exams and it came down to a choice between the exams and the archery. I played safe and gave up the archery. I think one day i’d like to go back to it (its an expensive hobby though). I loved my KG-1 grey recurve bow that i had – beautiful clean lines. (and i couldn’t find a pic of it… until Hedgewizard came up trumps with not just one, but two pics of it…. isn’t it gorgeous? Thanks, HedgeWizard!!) I don’t suppose there are many around these days – we are talking 20+ years ago. (and now i feel old.) edit: apparently they are still available. you just have to buy second hand or direct from the company that makes em.
  6. Anyone who reads this blog regularly will know i love dogs (especially our jessie) but not everyone will know i’m a cat person as well. this is one of the many things i share with Michiel. In fact, there’s not many animals i don’t like (and the ones i don’t, tend to be creepy crawlies, like spiders…. I still can’t watch THAT spider in “LOTR: Return of the King”.
  7. I like a cold bedroom to sleep in. if there’s one thing i hate, its sleeping in heat. As long as i’ve got good thick blankets/duvet, i’m happy. Wierdly, i don’t feel the cold in my feet. If i put my hands down to touch my feet, they often feel cold to the touch. This fact alone earns me lots of “don’t-you-dare-put-your-feet-on-me” orders from the other side of the bed on a cold night. πŸ˜€
  8. i had two large moles on my back removed when i was about 14. they weren’t precancerous or anything like that, rather, that they sat almost exactly on my bra-band and waist band, so the doc suggested they get them off sooner rather than later. i have a very clear memory of the op, which was done under a local, talking to the nurse all the way through, lying on my front. just weird prodding sensations on my back. it was a great conversation with the nurse though. I remember her saying how refreshing it was that she actually got to talk to the patient. πŸ™‚

There you have it. Eight random facts about me πŸ™‚

So now the fun bit.. i tag…

Michiel (if only because he was laughing at me struggling with 8 random facts and this is turnabout – besides, his blog needs updating). Sez (cos the lurve has to be shared around and she’s my best mate!). Donna (because i’d like to get to know her a bit better). Hedgewizard (because i suspect his version of this, if he deigned to do it, would be very interesting). Mel of Beansprouts (although she might not get to it for a few days with her sister visiting). Rhonda of Down—to—Earth (again, cos i think if she did it, it’d be an interesting one to view). Jennifer from Sty1eYourHome (cos she’s another lady i’d like to get to know a bit better). And finally, last but not least, MyMom. no link, cos she doesn’t have a blog, but if i can talk her into it.. i’ll post it here. πŸ™‚ (and she’s going to hate me for this. I still hope i can get her to do a blog in the long run..)

I’ve also updated my blogroll. If anyone objects to me listing their blog there, please yell and i’ll remove the link! thanks!

