i started work on my dress today. from dreams of a beautiful summer dress this morning.. to feeling fat, ugly, and totally useless tonight. This is not what i wanted when i started doing this.. its supposed to support me, not let me down like this..

I just.. JUST had enough material to make the pattern. i laboriously cut everything out, excitedly got to work. in doing the test run i noted that the material does not take well to unpicking, and frays like crazy. so i even more laboriously overlocked every single seam, even the hidden ones, to help strengthen the dress.

the instructions tell you to start with the bodice, then the midriff, then the skirt. I’ve gotten as far as the bodice and midriff. It doesn’t fit.

it doesn’t fit because pattern makers, regardless of what size you are, don’t take into account if you have large breasts or not. I do. mine are a DD. the bodice looks awful. I can’t wear it. I either pull the midriff part down under my bustline where it should be and expose half my bra – and worse – or hoist the bodice up and have the midriff sitting on my nipples. its indecent.. and worse still.. there’s no way to rescue it. i’ve run out of the material, so in order to finish it i have to go and get some more of the same material.. in fact, hope they HAVE more of the same material, and even then i have absolutely no idea where to start to adjust the bloody pattern so that it will fit me.

I’m looking at a blog on “full bust pattern adjustment” and it means nothing to me.

I feel fat, frumpy. useless.

and damnit.. i don’t want to feel this way. i shouldn’t feel this way. This was not supposed to happen…

EDIT: one hour later…

after throwing a hissy fit worthy of Naomi Campbell, dumping the material and all the other gorgeous material i bought in the bin, all the patterns and packing away all my sewing stuff, saying i was never going to sew again, then throwing myself on the sofa in floods of tears.. Michiel made me a cup of tea (yes i know, so English) cuddled me till the tears dried up a bit, and then kicked my backside in fairly short order (something along the lines of.. “just because the pattern is so badly designed you’re going to give up sewing?”) … i got all the stuff out of the bin (fortunately not damaged/dirtied) and he lent me the money to go into town tomorrow to get some more of that fabric. I just hope and pray they have some left.

[Mum… I’m probably not gonna get it done in time for you to hem it on friday, i’m going to have to make up a dummy run to get the bodice working as i want it to, so that i can then pull THAT one apart to use as a pattern for the dress and the other tops. Quite how i am going to make a larger bodice, i don’t know… i forsee a large learning curve ahead of me!]

I’ve also done a search online and discovered that i am not the only person to have had these problems with this pattern. Apparently just about all patterns, regardless of size, are designed for a “B” cup, and if you are anything other than that, you have to make the adjustments. Someone aptly described it as “a troll in the measuring department pulling figures out of thin air”. heh. which also makes me feel somewhat better (*mental note: next time you consider buying a pattern, do a search online first for reviews on it*). At the same time i’ve been warned that because the skirt is cut as a rectangle, then gathered into the bodice, it can give a rather dangerous “pregnant lady” look, so there may well be further adjustments apart from the bodice. It’d be worth it though as once i have a pattern that fits me, i’ll reuse it a lot – and i suspect this won’t be the last time i come up against this problem.

photos of the bodice as it is now are behind the cut…

this is with the bodice sitting more or less where its supposed to. It looks okay, but what you cant see is that the bodice doesnt cup underneath the bust as it should do, so if i made it up, the effect would make me look like.. well.. the side of a barn. its also rather lower cut than i feel comfortable with - the black vest im wearing underneath is about as low as i care to get, and this is lower than that - when i tried it without the vest, i could see quite a lot of my bra. Although the bodice isnt completely made up (theres no zip at the back to pull it taut) you can also tell that theres going to be quite a lot of extra material hanging loose at the side underneath the arm.

this is with the bodice sitting more or less where its supposed to. It looks okay, but what you can't see is that the bodice doesn't "cup" underneath the bust as it should do, so if i made it up, the effect would make me look like.. well.. the side of a barn. its also rather lower cut than i feel comfortable with - the black vest i'm wearing underneath is about as low as i care to get, and this is lower than that - when i tried it without the vest, i could see quite a lot of my bra. Although the bodice isn't completely made up (there's no zip at the back to pull it taut) you can also tell that there's going to be quite a lot of extra material hanging loose at the side underneath the arm. Its beautiful material and it deserves better than this, it really does.

this is with the midriff/bodice seam pulled down to where it *should* be, underneath the bust, and you can see how ridiculous it looks. The triangles that are supposed to cover the bust simply are not large enough - there is no allowance made if you are larger than a B cup that you need a bigger cup cos you got more to fill it with! I find this quite disgraceful, personally, i dont mind making minor adjustments but for something like this, there should at least be a warning on the pattern, and instructions for making smaller/larger cup sizes.

this is with the midriff/bodice seam pulled down to where it *should* be, underneath the bust, and you can see how ridiculous it looks. The triangles that are supposed to cover the bust simply are not large enough - there is no allowance made if you are larger than a "B" cup that you need a bigger cup cos you got more to fill it with! I find this quite disgraceful, personally, i don't mind making minor adjustments but for something like this, there should at least be a warning on the pattern, and instructions for making smaller/larger cup sizes.

