autumn is well and truly here with a vengenance. Not only is the weather grotty (i got soaked taking Jess out this morning, and this evening when i popped to the shop), but the leaves are starting to turn. The weekend was quite pleasant, and it seems, as if, overnight, autumn has arrived.

I took loads of pictures of autumn leaves and the changing of the seasons last year; enough that unless i see something really new, i’m not going to do the same thing this year. However, there are some photos from the weekend that are nature related – taken either by me or by my Mum – and its these i’d like to share today. More photos behind the cut of course….

a tree near where we live thats starting to split down the trunk. I reckon the first good storm we get should see it break apart completely.

a tree near where we live that's starting to split down the trunk. I reckon the first good storm we get should see it break apart completely. Quite sad really.

and here you can see how low the branches are on the side thats coming down. out of photoshot, one branch is touching the ground!

and here you can see how low the branches are on the side that's coming down. out of photoshot, one branch is touching the ground!

fallen trees in a country park near where Mum and Dad live - taken by Mum

fallen trees in a country park near where Mum and Dad live - taken by Mum

the first licks of flame, autumn is here..

the first licks of flame, autumn is here.. tree in the country park near Mum and Dad, taken by Mum

you can see how clear the sky was over the weekend... lovely. last taste of summer.

you can see how clear the sky was over the weekend... lovely. last taste of summer. Tree in the country park near Mum and Dad's home. taken by Mum.

trees in the country park near where Mum and Dad live - taken by Mum

trees in the country park near where Mum and Dad live - taken by Mum

Photo taken by Mum

Photo taken by Mum

no idea what this is. Photo taken by mum, in the country lanes near where Grannie lives. I expect shell comment and tell us what it is.

no idea what this is. Photo taken by mum, in the country lanes near where Grannie lives. I expect she'll comment and tell us what it is.

Mum and Dads garden. nice, isnt it?

Mum and Dad's garden. nice, isn't it?

hydrangea in Mum and Dads garden. taken by me.

hydrangea in Mum and Dad's garden. taken by me.

closeup of a hydrangea flower. Taken in Mum and Dads garden by me.

closeup of a hydrangea flower. Taken in Mum and Dad's garden by me. i love this dusty pinkiness.

fuschia. Mum loves fuschias so theres a lot in her garden but this particular one is the heirloom ive talked about before, that came from a cutting from my aunts garden, which came from a cutting from her fathers garden after he died... i now have several cuttings from this growing on the kitchen windowsill.

fuschia. Mum loves fuschias so there's a lot in her garden but this particular one is the heirloom i've talked about before, that came from a cutting from my aunt's garden, which came from a cutting from her father's garden after he died... i now have several cuttings from this growing on the kitchen windowsill.

I love this. This was taken by Mum, and i think its a fritilliary. Not sure though.

I love this. This was taken by Mum, and i think its a fritilliary. Not sure though.

original wild cyclamen growing in Grannies garden. taken by me.

original wild cyclamen growing in Grannie's garden. taken by me. These are fully winter hardy.

autumn of course is the time of berries. I love the deep blueness of these. taken by me, in mums garden.

autumn of course is the time of berries. I love the deep blueness of these. taken by me, in mum's garden.

beautiful red colour. taken by me, in Mums garden.

beautiful red colour. taken by me, in Mum's garden.

