i am wiped. Totally.. totally wiped. I’ve spent today stamping the back of all the xmas cards i’d made (with a “handcrafted” stamp), signing it with “kethry”, in some cases decorating the envelopes, where i’d not done it before, and sliding them into clear plastic sleeves. I then made 12 more cards. I’ve now got 91 cards: enough.  3 are reserved for Mum – she gets first pick of another 15, and after that, if i sell the lot, great, if not, then i’ve plenty of cards to do my own with! (and if i do sell the lot i’ll have to come home and make more.. gah!).

Still, i saved the best for last, i think. I really really like the new designs. I did two designs, six of each, totally handmade. I think they rock. Take a look, see what you think. (behind the cut of course).

Oh, and i booked the Turkey today. As in previous years, we’re having Christmas day on our own, and Mom/Dad/Gran are visiting on 27th Dec, and the Turkey is for then. Maybe Lamb for xmas day, not sure yet, and i might get a ham too. We’ll see. But a conversation with the butcher revealed that he’s keeping his prices the same as last year, which i was very surprised about, and actually expressed concern about (I know. I’m too nice). “Can you afford that?” i said. He grimaced, i get the impression he didn’t feel he had much of a choice. Poor guy. its been a tough year for butchers. Might see if i can give him a bit of a bonus.

tomorrow: I’ve got to make a Scottish Whisky Dundee cake (was going to make it today but the fruit needed soaking – its soaking in whisky now!), Rich and Boozy Christmas Pudding, both to take with me down to Mum and Dad’s on thursday, bread (for Michiel who is staying behind – dog/flat sitting), hemming a skirt and repairing a zip on my coat. Hopefully i’ll have time. Oh, and packing as well, since i’m heading out reasonably early on thursday morning (and no, Mum, I won’t forget the tickets this time…). I’m looking forward to getting there. i get to have a rest… Returning on Tuesday 2nd Dec, I may blog while I’m away but not sure. And when i get back.. i get to start on xmas presents!

(oh and for anyone reading this from the US: happy thanksgiving!)

the first design. I initially did the baubles piece for the background of the next card, but when i put them together they didnt work, so i made a new set of cards with a different background for the baubles... Im glad i did, they work better this way.

the first design. I initially did the baubles piece for the background of the next card, but when i put them together they didn't work, so i made a new set of cards with a different background for the baubles... I'm glad i did, they work better this way. And i made 6 of these.

)

the background for this is quite a lot busier than the previous card, which i really like (Michiel liked it so much he reckoned it stood up just on its own, no gold/red band, no black/red snowflake, no lettering), but with the previous baubles card, it was just a bit too big and took over, diminishing the impact of the lovely background. The red/black snowflake piece and red/gold band across has allowed the beauty of the background to show through. I'll be making this again. This is absolutely my favorite of all the cards i made. Oh, and i made 6 of these too! 🙂

