I thought I’d share the photographs of my cooking efforts today (okay okay, its an excuse to break out the camera again… but, you know, you don’t HAVE to read this blog if you don’t want to see gorgeous food pics !!!)

half the asparagus quiche i made - this, cut in half, serves two (with lots of mash and peas).

half the asparagus quiche i made - this, cut in half, serves two (with lots of mash and peas).

I know its not quite spring yet, but saw these jars of green asparagus spears in salt water in Lidl for £1.39 a jar, and thought they would make a lovely quiche, using some ready to roll puff pastry i had bought and stuffed in the freezer for xmas. And it did – with a little bit of ham (although it could’ve used more), leftover from the big ham i did at xmas, some grated cheddar, spring onions, eggs and cream, topped with a little parmesan.. sinful but OMG-good.. served with cheesy mustardy mashed potato (Michiel’s creation, he’s so much better at mash than I am – at least, that’s what I tell him to get out of making mash… LOL) and peas.. definetly a lovely sunday evening dinner.

ravioli cheese puffs

ravioli cheese puffs

And the leftover puff pastry? I cut some cubes of cheese, topped them with a spring onion, dotted them around half of the rolled out puff pastry, painted around them with egg, then covered with the other half, pressed the edges down, stabbed a steam hole then cut out the “ravioli” with a crinkly cutter, painted with more egg then baked. They’ve come out nicely, although i have no idea yet how they taste – I’m still too stuffed from dinner to try them! I’m sure they’re gorgeous though. I used some leftover cheese i’d bought at the European Market in Manchester before christmas – some green pesto cheese, and some chilli cheese. Nom. very very Nom. Just don’t ask for a recipe, cos its a little bit of this and a little bit of that and i couldn’t tell you what went in it in the end…

