It snowed very early this morning, again. I was up fairly early, unable to sleep, as my back was starting to hurt (always a good sign i need to get up and move around, get the muscles moving) so after a good breakfast, I decided to take Jess (and the camera, naturellement) out and walk up to the Ashton-Under-Lyne canal that runs between Manchester and – yup, you guessed it, Ashton Under Lyne.

I’ve a number of photos to share from this batch – 32 to be exact – but i’m not going to post them all here, just a few…. behind the cut, as usual (the rest can be found here). But i’m going to start with a shot from the other night, when it was snowing lightly, and i took a black and white photograph in the garden. I didn’t expect it to come out as well as it did, since this was taken without a flash, but its a beauty. Did I say I LURVE my new camera?

Taken around 9pm, it was snowing, lightly, and i didnt dare use the flash. Its a lovely photograph, Im well pleased with it.

Taken around 9pm, it was snowing, lightly, and i didn't dare use the flash. Its a lovely photograph, I'm well pleased with it.

Sunset, couple of days ago. The sun just peeking out from under cloud cover. This was taken standing outside Lidl!  (yes, my camera goes almost everywhere with me these days...)

Sunset, couple of days ago. The sun just peeking out from under cloud cover. This was taken standing outside Lidl! (yes, my camera goes almost everywhere with me these days...)

this is the area i hate to go - underneath this bridge. Its a hangout for youths Up To No Good at night, and as a result, the area is always littered with broken glass, it smells, and i really hate walking down there.

this is the area i hate to go - underneath this bridge. Its a hangout for youths Up To No Good at night, and as a result, the area is always littered with broken glass, it smells, and i really hate walking down there.

I love the way this branch bends

I love the way this branch bends

The Canal at the point it meets the Stockport branch, which is now mostly filled in. Its partly frozen over - the white in the middle is snow - and hard enough for ducks and geese to rest on the edge and lauch themselves off it into the water.

The Canal at the point it meets the Stockport branch, which is now mostly filled in. Its partly frozen over - the solid looking part in the middle is ice - and hard enough for ducks and geese to rest on the edge and lauch themselves off it into the water.

a slender branch laden with snow/ice. I love the intense colours in this.

a slender branch laden with snow/ice. I love the intense colours in this.

from intense colour to black and white. This is part of the path i walk along, and it looks so nice in black and white...

from intense colour to black and white. This is part of the path i walk along, and it looks so nice in black and white...

Tree trunk with snow stuck to it.

Tree trunk with snow stuck to it.

Brickwork and ivy in snow

Brickwork and ivy in snow

dribble of ice stuck to an ivy leaf

dribble of ice stuck to an ivy leaf

Stairway leading from path to main road - which goes over the bridge.

Stairway leading from path to main road - which goes over the bridge.

