I have a large A4 size notebook which i use for my daily jottings & household notes – to do’s, weight, menus and so on. Its about the size of an A4 book, with an elastic band built into it and works really well. Although i’ve been using it since before christmas, the cover isn’t that pretty and i suddenly thought this afternoon, when i was looking at it: “why don’t i re-cover it?”. So i did.

my new notebook, all covered and pretty

my new notebook, all covered and pretty

And now it looks really purty, even if i do say so myself. And no, the green chequered material isn’t material, its paper. there’s some scrap lace along the side, i used parchment paper to make the “notes” word, which was copied from the original NOTES that was on the front of the book originally, and i covered the entire thing with stickybacked plastic. (Blue Peter has a lot to answer for). I’m tempted, now, to re-cover a few more books of this type..

More photos behind the cut.

a closeup of the NOTES parchment paper and lace

a closeup of the NOTES parchment paper and lace

The back of the book. I got the paper around the elastic band by simply punching a hole (with a holepunch) where the elastic leaves the book, then cutting a line to the edge and simply butting them together once the papers were folded around the elastic.

The back of the book. I got the paper around the elastic band by simply punching a hole (with a holepunch) where the elastic leaves the book, then cutting a line to the edge and simply butting them together once the papers were folded around the elastic.

