I said earlier that yesterday i went into town to sort out my new bus pass. But before i left, i walked round to the old people’s home. This lies next to the path that i walk jess on regularly, and i can see through the railings into the garden of the home. They have some lovely drifts of both daffodils and crocuses in spring, as well as raised beds with other plants in for the residents to enjoy. I knocked on the door, explained to the warden that i’m an amateur photographer, and asked permission to snap some shots in the garden. After all, they could only say no, but to my intense pleasure they said yes, and showed me through.

these are very small daffs, mini daffs, i suppose. it caught the dappled sunlight perfectly. I love this photograph.

these are very small daffs, mini daffs, i suppose. it caught the dappled sunlight perfectly. I love this photograph.

The gardens aren’t that big – stretching about 8 meters away from the building, all around, but it is a large building. They’re lovely – with smooth paths to enable residents to walk around, and i thoroughly enjoyed taking photographs there. However, i didn’t want to spook any residents, so i tried to be reasonably fast and take my leave.

i took more photos yesterday (elsewhere), but they’ll have to wait for another time. More photos behind the cut, as usual.

I love the juxtaposition here - different colours, different leaf shape.

I love the juxtaposition here - different colours, different leaf shape.

i dont know what this is, but its a pretty little bud. (moh-hoooommmm!)

i don't know what this is, but its a pretty little bud. (moh-hoooommmm!)

another juxtaposition of leaf shapes...

another juxtaposition of leaf shapes...

drifts of daffs and crocuses underneath a weeping willow..

drifts of daffs and crocuses underneath a weeping willow..

beautiful white crocuses. Ive seen yellow, purple, and purple stripey, but not white.. this is stunning.

beautiful white crocuses. I've seen yellow, purple, and purple stripey, but not white.. this is stunning.

the other side of the fence is where i walk jess.

the other side of the fence is where i walk jess.

this is what i came for - the drifts of daff, sparkling in the sunshine.

this is what i came for - the drifts of daff, sparkling in the sunshine.

This is one of my favorite shots, together with the mini daffs at the top of the page.

This is one of my favorite shots, together with the mini daffs at the top of the page.

one of the raised beds with plants in

one of the raised beds with plants in

This bud caught my eye, with the red tinging

This bud caught my eye, with the red tinging

more contrasting juxtaposition

more contrasting juxtaposition

I think this is a grape hyacinth bud just emerging.

I think this is a grape hyacinth bud just emerging.

this, i have in my garden. and the name of it escapes me. pretty plant though. The seed heads that come up in autumn are lovely, dried, for flower arranged displays.

this, i have in my garden. and the name of it escapes me. pretty plant though. The seed heads that come up in autumn are lovely, dried, for flower arranged displays.

daffodils around a millstone with a fountain in the middle.

daffodils around a millstone with a fountain in the middle.

different view of the fountain and millstone.

different view of the fountain and millstone.

more flowers budding. i love the shadow cast on the leaves by it.

more flowers budding. i love the shadow cast on the leaves by it.

