Today is Mothering Sunday – much later than “mother’s day”, which most of the rest of the world seems to celebrate in May. Mothering Sunday actually goes back to ancient times. You can read more about it here, if you’re so inclined, but like Mother’s Day, we send cards to thank our mothers for being our mothers.

Unlike many people i like to send cards to my grandmothers as well. Although they’re not directly my mother, without them i still wouldn’t exist, so i like to say thankyou to them as well. And although the Dutch don’t do Mothering Sunday, i’ve taken to sending one to Michiel’s Mum as well. Seems wrong to remember my family and not Michiel’s mum!

Anyway. cards – photos are behind the cut…

card i made for Mum. This uses embossing and stencilling techniques, from the same stencil, and some stickers from papermania.

card i made for Mum. This uses embossing and stencilling techniques, from the same stencil, and some stickers from papermania.

card i made for my mother-in-law - this is a decoupage card.

card i made for my mother-in-law - this is a decoupage card, and has stickers from papermania in it.

card i made for my maternal grandmother, using decoupage

card i made for my maternal grandmother, using decoupage and a sticker from papermania

angled shot of the same card, so you can see the layers

angled shot of the same card, so you can see the layers

card i made for my paternal grandmother, also using decoupage & stickers from papermania

card i made for my paternal grandmother, also using decoupage & stickers from papermania.

