Woke up this morning to a drizzly world. The fine weather has come to an end, and with it, my work in the garden – for now, anyway. It ended yesterday with some seeds being sown: Asparagus Peas, various varieties of courgette, and some herbs, all of which are in the cold frame. We’ll see how they get on. Most of the seeds i sowed a week or so are well on the way, the rest won’t be far behind, i’m sure. Probably  have to have a pricking out session in a few days: hopefully the weather will be clear one afternoon so i can get on with that. The tray of lettuce seeds i sowed about 4 weeks or so ago has been delivering baby lettuce leaves which are really really lovely – I had *the* most gorgeous sandwich for my lunch today. Just simple, cucumber slices, avocado slices, spring onion, and baby lettuce leaves. I could not believe how tasty it was – something i’ll be having again, at least, when i buy more avocado, and i can’t wait to taste it with 100% home grown – avocado apart – salad.

The garden being off limits is probably just as well: things in the house were beginning to pile up a bit, so i got on with that instead. Washing up followed, and bathroom cleaning, dusting, sweeping.. all good stuff 🙂 I’ve some more to do tomorrow – i suppose you could call it spring cleaning – but for now i wanted to post the results of my butterfly mobile. I sat down this evening, wanting a little project to do, and my eye fell on the box containing the cut out, coloured in butterflies, left over from the cards i made for Mum. I’d already decided to try making a mobile from them, although i wasn’t quite sure how or how successful it would be. Tonight i had a go. I used wooden bamboo skewers, with the pointy bit cut off, to form a simple square, then hung my butterflies from that. It was simple, but fiddly. I think if i was to do this again (and i probably will), i’ll invest in some invisible thread, as it would make the whole thing far more effective. Still, it’s not bad for my first attempt and i’m quite pleased with it.

my first mobile!

my first mobile!

Apologies for the photo – I finally finished this at 2am, and the place i want to hang it doesn’t have a hook at present, and 2am is NOT the time to be banging one into the wall. So its hanging from a towel rail – the kind that hook over the door – and its hanging at an awkward angle. Plus the light is poor – i had to use the flash – and that’s set up shadows and made it look like there are more butterflies than there really are. I’ll try to get a better photo tomorrow, probably of it in situ. Couple more pics behind the cut…

closeup(ish) of one of the butterflies

closeup(ish) of one of the butterflies

I was playing with the various settings in my photo manipulation program when i tried the infrared setting. This was the result. I fell in love with it instantly - the various shadows created by the flash show up much better with the infrared, but it makes it look as though the butterflies really are flying. While it doesnt show the mobile terribly well, i think its a pretty photo.

I was playing with the various settings in my photo manipulation program when i tried the infrared setting. This was the result. I fell in love with it instantly - the various shadows created by the flash show up much better with the infrared, but it makes it look as though the butterflies really are flying. While it doesn't show the mobile terribly well, i think its a pretty photo.

