With it being Easter, of course i couldn’t let the occasion pass without sending out some cards. Unlike Christmas though, i tend to keep these for family members closest to us. I experimented this time with making 3d flowers from parchment paper. Although the basic idea came from somewhere else (i’d seen some instructions for making orchid flowers, this way), i worked out the details of the daffodil myself, and i’m quite proud for having done so. I’ll definitely make more of these. 🙂

daffodil made from parchment paper

daffodil made from parchment paper

the petals curve just like real flower petals do, which is done through embossing the paper. The trickest part is doing the orange bit in the centre – that involves a lot of swearing, glue, and orange penwork.. LOL.

more photos behind the cut…

I made two of these, which went to Mum and Dad and Grannie. I did the drawings myself too, which im quite amazed about because normally i cant draw for toffee. (I found a great how-to site for drawings). these were the second and third daffs i made though.

I made two of these, which went to Mum and Dad and Grannie. I did the drawings myself too, which i'm quite amazed about because normally i can't draw for toffee. (I found a great how-to site for drawings). these were the second and third daffs i made though.

a more religious card. This went to my other grandmother. Its also made from parchment, the white lines are embossed, and the flowers are made from parchment paper also, embossed and stuck to the larger sheet.

a more religious card. This went to my other grandmother. Its also made from parchment, the white lines are embossed, and the flowers are made from parchment paper also, embossed and stuck to the larger sheet.

another version of the card above

another version of the card above - this went to my great aunt.

pretty in pink! this went to Oma, Michiels grandmother (who rang him yesterday as a surprise, very pleased with the card, and who has threatened to send one back, also home made! (I bet hers is far better than mine..))

pretty in pink! this went to Oma, Michiel's grandmother (who rang him yesterday as a surprise, very pleased with the card, and who has threatened to send one back, also home made! (I bet hers is far better than mine..))

the first daffodil card i made. After i made the daffodil i thought i would try making the stem and leaves in 3d also, but it didnt work as well as i had hoped. Still, its a nice card. This went to Michiels parents.

the first daffodil card i made. After i made the daffodil i thought i would try making the stem and leaves in 3d also, but it didn't work as well as i had hoped. Still, its a nice card. This went to Michiel's parents.

