photos from the archive again… of course i made my own xmas cards again last christmas, although for a while with time issues i wasn’t sure i was going to! I purchased a couple of sets of clear stamps, the first two are Penny Black stamps – ‘Holly Day Critters’, ‘Christmas Critters’ and ‘Perfectly Clear Merry Messages’ – and used these for xmas, along with some other sets i had from last year…

i loved this cheeky cat hanging in the xmas decorations. I used a mix of chalks, colouring pencils and glittery pens to colour in the stamps. the cards were bought ready made - all i had to do was make something to insert inside them.

more behind the cut…

i also like these hedgehogs carrying the xmas tree baubles. if you look carefully, you may be able to see that the baubles have been coloured in with ink that shimmers.

these four mice singing carols are also adorable...

but i much prefer these lantern-carrying mice - they were larger, so easier to colour in with chalks too.

When it came to this mouse dancing in the snow, i thought of my dad and my uncle, who both support different football teams, so i looked up their colours. This one was for my uncle, who is a Wolverhampton Wanderers fan. (all i can say is that saturdays in my Nan's household are.. interesting..!!)

and this one was for dad, a lifelong Baggy - or a West Bromwich Albion fan. I don't know what my uncle thought of it but i know dad was tickled pink. or blue!

these three little hedgehogs look like they're having the time of their lives...

and you can see the same stamp in use again here, with quite a different design

all the cards went with decorated envelopes as well, although not all the envelopes are shown in the photographs. This one shows yet another design.

this set of card blanks came with the snowflakes around the outside and square in the centre already raised on the card, although they were plain. I chose to colour them in with embossing fluid (which comes in pen form - supposed to be clear but it gives this pale blue colour) and sprinkled shimmery embossing powder ontop, then stamped the centre of the card with different designs from my Holly Critters collection. I was quite pleased with the result, especially as i picked these card blanks up at a reduced price at WH Smiths...

